Search
  • Frank Nwafor

APPLE MUSIC LAUNCHES NEW ‘AFRICA NOW RADIO’ SHOW




Apple Music is launching a new radio show called Africa Now Radio, which will be hosted by Nigerian-born DJ and curator Cuppy. The show is based on the recently launched Africa Now playlist and will showcase “the latest African sounds”, with genres ranging from amapiano, afrobeats, highlife, alte, house, hip-hop, afrobongo, to kuduro. On the debut episode, Nigerian Producer Kiddominant – known for producing African hits such as Davido’s Fall and AKA’s Fela In Versace – will join Cuppy via FaceTime to discuss his new single eWallet featuring South African superstar rapper and Def Jam Africa-signing Cassper Nyovest. Each show will end with a personalized 10-minute mix of tracks from the Africa Now playlist. Africa Now Radio with Cuppy airs weekly on Sundays, starting May 31st at 6am LA / 9am NY / 1pm Abidjan / 2pm Lagos/London / 3pm Johannesburg/Paris and 4pm Nairobi.

“THERE ARE SO MANY RICH TEXTURES AND SOUNDS IN AFRICA AND THE TIME IS NOW FOR THE WORLD TO EMBRACE OUR DIVERSITY.” CUPPY

“With a DJ background, I’m excited not only to play music but showcase the vast array of talented artists cultivating the music scene on the continent,” said Apple Music host Cuppy. “There are so many rich textures and sounds in Africa and the time is now for the world to embrace our diversity.

“Each and every week I’ll be bringing a dynamic guide to discovering and celebrating the biggest and best sounds from across Africa, the Motherland. It will be entertainment at its best, Cuppy style.”

14 views

 

Sound

Genie

Sound Genie is a music distribution and marketing firm focused on grooming the next generation of artistes lead by our founder; Frank Nwafor.

© 2020 Sound Genie Global. 

Frank@soundgenieglobal.com

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon